

2013 Officers

<u></u>				
President				
Dusty Wagoner	271-9156			
Vice-Presidents				
Gerry McGuire	608-5262			
Rob Exon	266-0931			
Russell Cole	272-5580			
<u>Secretary</u>				
Brad Koehn	357-4012			
<u>Membership</u>				
Nancy Kelley	354-8412			
<u>Treasurer</u>				
Kathleen Hickert	862-7490			
<u>Historian</u>				
Matt Dowd	478-1023			
Photographer				
Dave Heinemann	267-5033			
Newsletter/Webmaster				
Patrick Maxon	273-0447			
2013 Board Members				

Art Alcala	266-7929
John Arnold	228-0337
Jim & Diane Bean	234-6156
Rich Benson	783-7288
Brenda Brinker	272-2176
Ben Brunson	806-8466
Domingo Castardo	383-5518
Mary Decker	273-3986
Mike & Wanda Dixon	272-5029
Randy Dolifka	234-5426
Louise Ecord	856-6695
Lou Giersch	232-1461
Monika Goodwin	969-4800
Barb Gottschamer	273-1712
Dee Dee Hunt	633-2083
Jerry Johnson	233-5435
Sharon Keegan	852-0310
Phyllis Kelly	272-6609
Bill & Cherrie Koehn	357-7666
Pat & Paula Leeper	267-7668
Margo Leonard	272-0801
Kristi Maxon	273-0447
Pete Maxon	608-4222
Sherry McGowan	783-7288
Charlie & Evon Meier	233-4546
Helen Miller	233-6320
Reenie Olson	233-3472
Blake Post	608-3258
Doug Reynolds	267-2429
Jeannie Schnellbacher	224-9915
Jack Shutt	272-7884
Larry Tenopir	233-9467
Geneva Tucker	856-1827
Lance Weeks	841-3627
Dave Wenrich	228-9880

Terpeka Jayhawk Club

Volume 12 Issue 06

December 2012

www.topekajayhawkclub.com

ROUNDBALL LUNCHEON POPULAR EVENT.

Once again, the Topeka Roundball Luncheon proved to be a popular event for those hungry for a good meal and another stellar basketball season. Emceed this year by former Kansas Guard and radio analyst Greg Gurley and featured Coaches Bill Self and Bonnie Henrickson. Also in attendance was Dr. Matthew Smith, Associate Director of Bands and Director of Athletic Bands, who accepted a \$1500 donation from the Topeka layhawk Club and also led the Topeka layhawk Club Alumni and Friends Pep Band in a couple of tunes. Pictures of the event can be viewed by going to www.topekajayhawkclub.com and clicking on the "Photos" link.

RENEW YOUR MEMBERSHIP FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2013

Membership renewals are now due. Membership drives will be held at Fairlawn Mall on the following dates and times. There is always a need for help at these drives. Please feel free to come help or contact Nancy Kelley at 354-8412 if you have any questions regarding your membership. If you have misplaced your pre-filled membership form you received in the mail, please download a blank form from our website and fill it out prior to coming to renew your membership. It will be a great timesaver for all.

www.topekajayhawkclub.com

Wed	12/05/12	5PM-7PM	Sat	01/12/13	10AM–Noon
Sat	12/15/12	10AM-Noon	Sat	01/19/13	10AM-Noon
Sat	12/22/12	10AM-Noon	Sat	02/09/13	10AM-Noon
Wed	01/02/12	5PM-7PM	Sat	02/16/13	10AM-Noon

TJC HAWKWATCHES

Hawkwatches have started up once again for the 2013 basketball season. The first one was attended by an enthusiastic group estimated at around 85-90 Jayhawk fans. They are being held once again at the Lazy Toad, on the west end of the Fairlawn Mall. If you've provided us with your email address, keep your eye on your inbox, as we send out notifications for each Hawkwatch we have. If you provided your email address but have not received any emails, shoot me a message at pat@topekajayhawkclub.com, and we'll see if we can get it sorted out. Should you have any questions or concerns regarding Hawkwatches, contact Helen at 233-6320.

2013 OFFICERS ELECTED

Election of officers was held at the December Board Meeting and the results can be viewed on the left side of this page. Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of every month in the basement of the McCrite Plaza Retirement Community, 1608 SE 37th St, at 5:30PM. Everyone is welcome. You can ask any board member or call our president if you are interested in becoming a board member.



Page 2

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT.

Kansas basketball legend **Clyde Lovellette** was inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Sunday at the Midland Theatre. Lovellette, who played for the Jayhawks from 1950-52, was a three-time All-American for KU and a key piece in Kansas' march to its first NCAA title in 1952. The 6-9 center finished his career as the all-time leading scorer in KU history with 1,979 points and held that distinction for 36 years until **Danny Manning** passed him in 1988. Known for his hook shot, Lovellette scored many of his points without being able to see his target.

Kansas senior **Jeff Withey** and freshman **Ben McLemore** have been named to the 2012-13 Naismith early season watch list. The 50-player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012-2013 college basketball season. The Naismith Men's College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 7, 2013 in Atlanta.

A season of unprecedented success has landed 15-year Kansas head coach **Ray Bechard** the 2012 Division I AVCA Central Region Coach of the Year award and redshirt junior middle blocker **Caroline Jarmoc** AVCA All-Central Region First Team recognition. Bechard is the first KU coach to be bestowed the regional COY award, while Jarmoc becomes the second Jayhawk in history to earn the accolade. With the regional first team award, Jarmoc now moves on to consideration for All-America honors. Coach Bechard also picked up his first Big 12 Coach of the Year honor. This marks the first Coach of the Year distinction for KU in the Big 12 era.

Highlighted by senior center **Trevor Marrongelli**, who earned his fourth selection to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team, Kansas football placed a league-best 19 student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 teams Kansas football also earned recognition by the American Football Coaches' Association (AFCA), which announced its Academic Achievement Awards recently. KU was honored as one of 47 Division I institutions which achieved a 75-percent graduation rate or better for its 2005 freshman class of student-athletes. The Jayhawks were just one of four schools from the Big 12 to be honored by the AFCA, joining Baylor, Texas and TCU.

A quartet of Kansas football players picked up second team honors as the 2012 All-Big 12 football awards were announced by the conference Wednesday. Junior halfback **James Sims**, senior offensive lineman<u>Tanner</u> <u>Hawkinson</u>, sophomore linebacker **Ben Heeney** and senior safety **Bradley McDougald** were each honored by the Big 12. The selections were made by the league's 10 head coaches, who are not permitted to vote for their own players.

The **2012 women's volleyball** team finished the year as the winningest team in program history (.765), collected more home wins (17) than any other year, earned a program-best No. 6 RPI ranking and posted its highest Big 12 Conference finish (3rd, 12-4).

NERRY GRADSTARS